CincyBattletech

General Category => Other Games => Historical Wargaming => Topic started by: serrate on September 07, 2016, 04:02:30 PM

Title: Questions
Post by: serrate on September 07, 2016, 04:02:30 PM
Just a couple for now, no doubt with many more to follow.  ;D

Team weapons:
-Since they only require 2 men to operate at full effectiveness, the option to add additional crew is essentially buying "armor" for the unit, correct? With more than 2 men, they can take casualties and still operate at full efficiency.

-If "exceptional damage" takes out the operator of a non-artillery team weapon, the weapon itself is considered destroyed and the entire team is removed?

-Since individual men can be hit, and the weapon/operator remain, these should be based in such a way that support crew can be removed? For instance, I've already glued down the Bazooka and support man onto a single lozenge base, but now I'm thinking I should remove them and either re-base onto a single base using magnets OR base them separately.

Light Machine Guns: These are "team" weapons allocated to infantry squads, and are part of the squad "unit".
-As such, in the case of a "exceptional damage", can the opponent choose to discard the LMG model/operator?

-In such a case, is this weapon also considered destroyed or can another member of the unit act as the new gunner?

-If the LMG is destroyed (assuming it can be), then the loader just rejoins the squad as a regular trooper?

**Was just watching the Beasts of War BA2 demo game, and this scenario happened with the LMG guy taking exceptional damage and being removed. The "loader" was just fine, so I think my questions regarding LMG's have been answered.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Riegien on September 07, 2016, 07:53:42 PM
As far as the last question for the weapons teams goes, it seems to be however you want to do it.  I've modeled my pak40 with some round slots that fit the infantry bases in what will eventually be the terrain, sort of like a diorama piece.  Each crewman will be based and his own mini, and just slot into the 'hole' in the terrain.  You could just as easily just keep a d10 nearby or something to indicate damage taken if you want to keep everything together.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on September 07, 2016, 09:05:58 PM
What he said for gun crews. Either way is good. If the lmg gunner is hit( exceptional damage) he and the weapon is removed. The asst. gunner becomes a rifleman.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on September 19, 2016, 06:09:02 PM
Have question, when the Bolt Action day would take place, I would like to invite a couple of guys from the other group that I game with. Not saying they would attend but if so it would give a couple more players. Tom has various German armies and Russians. Henry has Chinese, US Marines, Japanese.
Let me know if anyone has an issue with this.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: agustaaquila on September 22, 2016, 09:06:21 PM
I would love to meet others, as long as all have an understanding of going for historical rather than competitive play.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: serrate on September 23, 2016, 07:00:41 AM
Have question, when the Bolt Action day would take place, I would like to invite a couple of guys from the other group that I game with. Not saying they would attend but if so it would give a couple more players. Tom has various German armies and Russians. Henry has Chinese, US Marines, Japanese.
Let me know if anyone has an issue with this.

No issue whatsoever.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on September 23, 2016, 07:04:45 AM
They would be there just to have a good game, they are not meta-gamers.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Riegien on October 05, 2016, 11:31:40 PM
Do we have a feel for when we may want to have a historicals day?  Trying to plot out my availability for the month and to figure out a painting schedule.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Riegien on October 11, 2016, 12:27:20 PM
Rules question.  Not sure if I missed it anywhere.  The list building tends to say 1 transport may be taken per unit.  Are there any clarifications that say that if your squad does not fit into 1 transport, like a full 10 man squad in a Jeep or kubelwagen, that you may purchase more than one transport per unit?  Or would it be 'takes 3 squads, buy 1 Jeep per squad, load as many guys as needed into those 3 forming a transport unit but all the other squads are walking'?
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: agustaaquila on October 11, 2016, 07:47:01 PM
I thought most transport units were either halftracks or trucks.  Let me go and research.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on October 11, 2016, 08:25:26 PM
Check page 115 for transports. One squad per vehicle. This is in V2 rules.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: agustaaquila on October 11, 2016, 08:50:27 PM
"Transport vehicles can carry infantry units up to a specified maximum number of men. A single vehicle can
transport any number of entire units so long as the total number of models aboard does not exceed the
vehicle’s carrying capacity. A unit cannot be divided between two or more transports"
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Riegien on October 11, 2016, 09:18:33 PM
Ah ok.  So the multiple transport unit at 255 in the appendix are scenario type rules then.  Had missed the earlier statement.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Darrian Wolffe on October 12, 2016, 05:08:48 PM
Ah ok.  So the multiple transport unit at 255 in the appendix are scenario type rules then.  Had missed the earlier statement.

Yeah, I had to read that a couple times over myself.  Essentially it means that for some transport types, you are forced to field a smaller squad or use a different transport.  My Commando, for example, are fielded only in a 5-man group so that they can fit in a Bren Gun Carrier, even though I'd prefer to field a more accurate 8-man unit (which would require 2 universal carriers).
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Riegien on October 13, 2016, 10:49:38 AM
Darn. My dreams of swarming across the Tunisian desert in a cloud of VW's is dashed... for now.  Thanks all!
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Timberwolfd on October 13, 2016, 11:38:54 AM
Bonus points if the VWs can overrun enemy troops death race style!
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: serrate on October 24, 2016, 01:12:15 PM
Did we play the whole day using 4+ as our starting to-hit number? I was looking at the rulebook and it shows 3+ as basic to-hit. Don't know why we did that.

Based on that mistake alone, I'd have to reevaluate some of the more disappointing units of the day, such as my Bazooka and Sniper teams, as well as Rob's PDR. My Bazooka firing point-blank at the PDR, with no movement, would've been hitting on a 2+ I think, since rolling a 1 is a miss no matter what.

Pretty sure we also forgot to adjust to-hit difficulty by how many pins were currently on the shooter, but maybe every shooter who passed their order test got rid of their single pin so it didn't matter, I don't remember.

Also forgot to go "Down" with my infantry units that were taking fire. That would've made my sacrificial Vet squad last even longer than it did I think, had I remembered to do this. Or it would've forced Rob's infantry to Assault to end them, which would've been easy considering how many troops were in the area. Those Vets are SO expensive, but the durability difference is pretty noticeable.

Rob, do you get to take the PM-MMG on the Bren when taking it as a transport unit? I saw something on EasyArmy that made me think otherwise, but I honestly haven't looked it up.

And of course, there was the initial mortar placement by both teams, which was less than ideal, lol.

I'm trying to figure out if bringing a more experienced officer is a good thing or a waste of points. My officer didn't do much and then got obliterated (Bren maybe?). Rob's officer was pretty effective at helping those Inf squads pass their order tests, as well as the tank at the end.

Anything else we did wrong?  :D 

Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on October 24, 2016, 09:30:44 PM
If firing, you pass the order roll, remove one pin and figure out to-hit number. Minus 1 per pin.
I believe as transport when the troops dismount, the pintle mg is not available. US half-tracks with 3 mg's transporting has some fire power.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Riegien on October 24, 2016, 10:06:20 PM
Transports can now use any 1 gun after debussing their troops, either the driver switching seats or an assistant is manning the gun.  Page 130.

The Bren carrier gets 1 LMG naturally.  It can remove all its transport capacity to also haul a Vickers MMG around, but its still in a transport slot (so can only shoot 1 gun, flees in terror when approached by Forward observers or medics).
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Darrian Wolffe on October 24, 2016, 11:02:52 PM
Transports can now use any 1 gun after debussing their troops, either the driver switching seats or an assistant is manning the gun.  Page 130.

The Bren carrier gets 1 LMG naturally.  It can remove all its transport capacity to also haul a Vickers MMG around, but its still in a transport slot (so can only shoot 1 gun, flees in terror when approached by Forward observers or medics).

For reference, the Easy Army printout we were using as a reference still listed the Bren carrier as having a forward Bren Gun and a pintile-mount Bren gun available for use as a transport.  Making it a Vickers MMG carrier invalidated the transport option and replaced the pintle mount.  Whether this means that Easy Army cannot be trusted as a source b/c it's not updated for 2e, I'm unaware.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: agustaaquila on October 24, 2016, 11:13:51 PM
Last I read the weapons had been update to 2e but not all the vee stuff.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Riegien on October 24, 2016, 11:16:48 PM
Yea, it also may be an option in one of the non core books for the UK.  Easy Army has all the books included and I only have core for UK.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on October 25, 2016, 07:21:39 AM
If you use the U/C as a MMG carrier, the only weapon is the MMG. Makes a MMG mobile, not a fixed weapon. It is listed in the Brit book in self propelled arty. section.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Riegien on November 07, 2016, 11:58:36 AM
Brandon, looked up some of the things that came up in our game.  I needed to declare at set up if the mmg team was aboard the half track.  Also the orders dice start the game in the bag, they are never kept out.  Also never checked to make sure your airborne were closer than my guys to the half-track.

Were there any other things we weren't sure of?
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Ice on November 07, 2016, 03:20:03 PM
not that I can think of not sure what you mean about the half track I have forgotten already
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on November 07, 2016, 03:39:31 PM
I believe he is stating that a vehicle that can transport, needs to be designated at the beginning of the game.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: Riegien on November 07, 2016, 03:53:55 PM
There were 2 misplays by me.  I kept the mmg team and transport in reserve, but didn't say 'the mmg this riding in the transport' or not.  That needs to be said at the beginning.  Also I brought the transport in to attack your guys, but never checked to see if you were closer to it that. My own troops.  A transport that is closer to the enemy than your own troops dies/flees/is removed.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on November 07, 2016, 07:48:09 PM
If it is still transporting troops, I don't believe that is so. Only after the troops disembark does the transport need to stay farther away from enemy troops than friendly.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: serrate on January 03, 2017, 04:14:22 PM
Can a to-hit go below 3? American troops (run-n-gun) move to within 6" of enemy in no cover. Base to-hit=3, -1 for point-blank. To me, it looks like the to-hit should be 2 (1's are always a miss), however, something I read online led me to believe that it's commonly believed that a 3 to-hit is the lowest possible.

Comments?
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on January 03, 2017, 08:02:16 PM
No, I believe that it can go to 2-to hit.
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: serrate on February 07, 2017, 03:41:51 PM
I want to make sure I'm understanding HE weapons and their PEN bonus correctly. Here's the scenario:

1) I fire my M8's light anti-tank (HE 1") using an HE round at a Veteran infantry squad in light cover, and they choose to go "Down"
2) Since this isn't indirect fire, all normal to-hit penalties apply (cover, firer movement, down, range, etc).
3) The shot hits, and the 1" template is able to reach 3 guys. That gets reduced to 2 due to the squad being "down" (half hits rounded up).
4) Damage is rolled, and since the 1" HE has a +1 PEN, the vets die on a 4+ instead of a 5+.

Correct?
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on February 07, 2017, 07:11:55 PM
I believe you have it correct. Bringing an M8 to the 500 pt. round?
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: serrate on February 07, 2017, 08:42:43 PM
I believe you have it correct. Bringing an M8 to the 500 pt. round?

Was planning on it, but not sure now. Considering the objectives, I'm not convinced I should bring a unit that can't claim one. Wish I had come to this conclusion earlier though, since I've got the M8 mostly painted.

 ???
Title: Re: Questions
Post by: phlop on February 07, 2017, 09:12:18 PM
Well, you will have it for 750 pts.